Why do you run

Why do you run
I ask
why can’t you open
why do you drink and numb yourself
why do you smoke marijuana ceaselessly
why do you fall in lust and then forget
you’re so scared
why don’t you love me as though
I were your personal storm
make me into whatever you want and need
I’ll be the canvas to lay your soul onto
I’ll be the one to receive you
but only if your intentions are true
if you look into my eyes while I make love to you
if you kiss me tiredly and desperately
a desperation with the trace of letting to
fucking your spirit clean
you will not use me
instead
I’ll be your rock and ocean as you
immerse yourself inside me until you break
then I’ll help you pull your pieces together
from the tired bed sheets
I’ll make the space where you can
become a man who will love me like the moon does
tirelessly and assuredly
a man who can be alone with his mind
with blood and body clean,
who doesn’t need whiskey and green to come to me
and ask for my body and my love
and then
I’ll give it to you unwaveringly

One thought on “Why do you run

Leave a Reply

